Mississippi Out-of-State Driver’s License Requirements

Published on Oct 23, 2019 at 2:26 pm in Car Accidents.

Statue of Louis XIV

Moving to a new state is exciting. You could be starting a new job or moving closer to family. While there are many new things to look forward to when you’re in a new state, you also need to stay on top of your responsibilities. One of those responsibilities will be getting a new Mississippi license.

Your license does much more than declare you’re legally allowed to operate a motor vehicle. Your license is a form of I.D., which is important to have if you’re using a credit card, opening a checking account, applying for loans or benefits, or traveling. If you’re ever in an emergency situation where you can’t speak for yourself, your license can provide vital information about your identity to those in charge.

Driving without a valid license in Mississippi can result in serious penalties. The driver may be given a fine or spend time in jail. These penalties are much more costly than what it would take for someone to get a new, valid license.

When you have this item checked off your list, you’ll feel a sense of accomplishment and you’ll have an official license of your new home state. Let’s look into what you need to do when you’re getting your new Mississippi license.

What Do New Mississippi Residents Need for a New License?

You should plan on getting your new license within the first 30 days of living in Mississippi. The process is straightforward and all you have to do is follow what the Mississippi Department of Public Safety says you need. First, you need to locate the nearest driver’s license office. This is where you’ll present the proper information and documents to get a Mississippi license. You need to have the following:

  • A valid out-of-state license.
  • A Certified State issues long form Birth Certificate.
  • Original social security card.
  • Two proofs of residency. You can bring a lease or purchase agreement, utility bills, a bank statement, or a Mississippi car tag receipt.

There will be a fee for the new license. It’s $24 for a 4 year license and $47 for an 8 year license. You need to pay with cash or card as checks are not accepted. Once you’ve done that, you’ll be all set to have your new license.

How Can A License Help You in an Accident?

If you’re involved in an accident, a major component is having your license on you. If the police or emergency responders are called to the scene, you have a form of I.D. so they know who you are. When you’re speaking with the other party involved in the accident, the police can get their proper information as well.

From there, you and the other party should exchange information. This includes your names, contact information, insurance policy numbers, and vehicle information. Then, you can start to inform insurance companies about what happened and take steps to getting the compensation you need.

Get in Touch with Pittman, Roberts & Welsh, PLLC

While getting in a car accident is an unexpected and traumatizing experience, it’s important for you to know that there are people who can help you get the justice you deserve. Pittman, Roberts & Welsh, PLLC is located in Jackson, MS, and provides assistance with personal injury claims to residents all over the state. We’ve helped many people who were wrongfully injured get the compensation they deserve. We understand how confusing this time can be and can help you get your life back on track.

Car accidents can cause a number of painful injuries that can take a long time to recover as well as keep you away from work. When you’ve just moved to a new state, you may have also just started a new job. This can create a lot of stress even though you weren’t at fault. As you’re dealing with this, navigating the legal process on your own can be a lot for one person. But that’s why we’re here. We’ll stand by your side and will do everything possible to get you the compensation you deserve.

It’s important to get started on your case as soon as possible. Your legal journey starts with a phone call. Contact our office today so we can schedule an obligation-free consultation. Then, we can discuss your options and help you find the best way to proceed.

Free Consultations


Call us or fill out the form below to tell us about your potential case and a personal injury lawyer will get back to you as quickly as possible.