Mississippi Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
After a car accident, most people are shaken and may be injured, but they still do the right thing. They stop at the scene, offer help to those if they need it, call emergency services, and will exchange their insurance information so they can report what happened to their insurance companies. When people flee the scene, they commit a hit-and-run. If you’ve been a victim of a hit-and-run, you may not know what to do next.
People often commit hit-and-runs because they are scared of what will happen if they take responsibility for the accident. It may result in points on their license or their insurance premium going up. They may also worry about losing their ability to drive. However, it’s much better to follow the law and take responsibility for the accident than fleeing the scene. Leaving means that the person will face much more serious consequences when they are caught.
What Are the Penalties for Hit-and-Run Accidents in Mississippi?
Mississippi law clearly states what is supposed to happen after a car accident and what the penalties are for failing to comply with the law. When a driver is involved in an accident that causes injury or death, they’re supposed to stop at the scene or as close as possible and get back to the scene. They also cannot put someone’s life in danger or obstruct traffic in any way. When another person is hurt, your first instinct may be to move them. But you don’t know what’s wrong. It’s best to wait for paramedics to arrive. Also, some crashes do block traffic lanes and the vehicles can be impossible to move on your own, the law is so you don’t purposefully stop traffic flow.
Willfully leaving the scene will face serious punishment. They can spend between 30 days to a year in jail. They could also face a fine between $100 and $5,000 or go to jail and pay a fine.
The consequences significantly increase if the person fled a crash where the other driver died or suffered from catastrophic injuries like mutilation, disfigurement, or was permanently disabled. The person will face a felony charge and can spend between 5-20 years in jail, or will pay a fine between $1,000 and $10,000. There’s also a chance they could have to do both. Then, they may lose their driver’s license.
Get Representation from Pittman, Roberts & Welsh, PLLC
You should know that the police will look into finding the driver. They have several methods that could help them catch the person. This includes taking your statement, looking to see if any surveillance cameras caught the collision, and speaking to any eyewitnesses. But in the instance that they don’t, you still have legal options.
If you’ve been a victim of a car accident where the responsible driver left, it doesn’t mean that you cannot get compensation. It’s not fair for you to have to pay for the injuries and damages for an accident that wasn’t your fault. We can help guide you through the legal process. These matters can get complicated when you don’t have the identity of the other driver, but we’ve handled cases like this before. We’ll use our expertise to do everything possible to get you the compensation you deserve.
It’s best to get started on your case as soon as possible because physical evidence can be discovered that may lead to catching the hit-and-run driver. We’ll also work on getting you the financial relief you need so you can recover. Get in touch with us today to learn how we can help.