Do You Have Enough UM Coverage on Your Auto Insurance Policy?
Uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist (UM) coverage is designed to protect you in the event of an accident with another motorist who doesn’t have enough or any coverage to pay for the injuries or damages you sustained. While UM coverage is not required by law in Mississippi, it is still beneficial for you so you can feel secure knowing you’re covered even if the driver who caused your accident is uninsured.
When you’ve been in a collision with another vehicle that wasn’t your fault, you could use legal support to ensure that your rights are protected. A car accident lawyer from Pittman Roberts & Welsh, PLLC can represent you and fight to get you the compensation you deserve for your injuries and any other damages you suffered from.
Mississippi Insurance Coverage Minimums
No matter how careful you are, car wrecks can still happen. That’s why there are state minimums on how much auto insurance coverage you need to carry—so that you’re covered in the worst-case scenario. Here are the minimums that you are legally required to carry in Mississippi for auto insurance:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
These values are only the minimum that you have to carry. That means that you can get a policy with even better coverage to ensure you are financially secure even if a negligent driver crashes into you and causes you serious injuries and property damage.
Your auto insurance policy’s liability coverage covers costs like medical bills, property damage repair costs, and any other costs that you incurred after someone else causes an accident. When you only get the minimum coverage, though, your policy might not cover all costs that you incur because they add up to more than the amount you’re covered for.
That’s why you should have more than the minimum coverage and elect for more coverage, like carrying UM coverage. Let’s take a look at what UM coverage could do for you.
Should I Have More Than the Minimum Coverage?
While carrying the minimum required coverage adheres to the law, it’s not always beneficial to do the bare minimum. Even though you’re following the rules, you can still run into problems when you only have the minimum coverage. Not many Mississippi citizens know that they can—and should—carry more auto insurance coverage than is legally required of them, which includes UM coverage.
Since UM coverage isn’t required by law for drivers in our state, it is still beneficial to have. When you’re in an accident with someone who doesn’t have the minimum or enough insurance and they caused the accident, then you wouldn’t be able to recover the costs for damages that you would deserve. However, when you have UM coverage added onto your policy, you can feel covered.
You shouldn’t have to worry about how you’ll pay for your losses when someone else caused a collision with you. With UM coverage opted onto your policy, you can feel confident that you’re covered and know that you will be financially secure even if the other driver is not covered.
Our Lawyers Can Help You
Car accidents can leave you with injuries and other damages that you shouldn’t have to pay for on your own. When someone else is at fault for the crash, they should be liable for the damages that you suffered. That’s where a car accident lawyer from our firm can help you.
At Pittman Roberts & Welsh, PLLC, we understand that you need to financially recover from your accident so you can focus on physically and emotionally healing. We’re here to ensure you get the compensation you deserve for your damages. Reach out to our office today so we can get started on your claim right away.